Steven L. Smith, Bellingham, WA Home Inspector (King of the House)

head_left_image

True Ghost Story -- Bellingham Home Inspector (King of the House Home Inspection)

I had a chilling experience the other day while up on a roof that was icy on one side. I did not go over to that side, for safety. But there was an interesting phenomenon in play. Have any of you ever heard of spirit photos? During the days when spirit seances were taken very seriously, in the early part of the last century, spirit mediums would produce photos that would shock people by having an unexpected ghost in the photo. I always guffawed at those. But wait!

Last Saturday morning I was up on this roof. I swear that only I was there. Nobody else was on premises, not even a mouse or a squirrel (who was sleeping in). When I got home, and processed my photos, my heart stood still. In those photos, plain as day, was a spirit. I was standing clear over at the other side of the roof, yet this presence emerged just slightly in the first photo and we will go from there.

It was as if this spirit was emerging, like an ethereal object from the valley of the roof. Then I got another shot as it became an amorphous blob.

And finally it showed it's true colors and emerged in full size.

I am so glad that the ghost became present on the photos and that I did not get a startling start, and become acutely aware of its essence, while I was up there. I might have, in fear, clattered over and off the icy slope .

Thanks for stopping by,

Steven L. Smith

GeoLogo207

Steven L. Smith

If you enjoy nostalgia and music of yesteryear, click on Elvis' gold record to visit This Day In History. To explore The Stories Behind The Music blog posts click on the electric guitar. 

 

        

 

 

 

 

Comment balloon 13 commentsSteven L. Smith • February 25 2010 09:08AM

Comments

And April 1 is still more than a month away, Steve.

Posted by Glenn Roberts (Retired) about 9 years ago

Alas, but we are all but mere shadows of our former selves.  When I was on a roof the other day I saw this:

Babies on a roof?

Posted by Charles Buell, Seattle Home Inspector (Charles Buell Inspections Inc.) about 9 years ago

Mr Charles,

If the story by the boss was not stress inducing enough, that is for certain the footprint of a big foot who was not wearing his or her shoes. Your wife was in serious peril.

Nutsy

Posted by Steven L. Smith, Bellingham WA Home Inspector (King of the House Home Inspection, Inc.) about 9 years ago

Steve - Did you recommend in the inspection report that the buyer's call in an experienced ghost whisperer to evaluate the situation further? 

Posted by Carol Culkin, Overland Park (Reece & Nichols) about 9 years ago

When all else fails - call Nutsy to the rescue! It works. :)

Posted by Brian Burke, Broker & Advising Expert-Denver Luxury Real Estate (Kenna Real Estate) about 9 years ago

You are seeing ghosts and Charlie is seeing Little Foot. 

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) about 9 years ago

Steve, anyone can see that is Nutsy.  You shouldn't be afraid.  He was spiritually there to protect his boss.

Posted by Barbara S. Duncan, GRI, e-PRO, Executive Broker, Searcy AR (RE/MAX Advantage) about 9 years ago

It sure looks scary up on those roofs. I know see why I don't need to be touring around up there.

Posted by Lizette Fitzpatrick, Lizette Realty, Lexington KY MLS - Kentucky Homes (Lizette Realty - Richmond KY) about 9 years ago

Hmm....It looks like that crafty spirit was taking your photo too!  I wonder if he has a blog.....

Posted by Jim Allhiser, Salem, Oregon Home Inspector (Perfection Inspection, Inc.) about 9 years ago

This post is way too scary, the twists it has taken, and my assistant is very jittery now.

Posted by Steven L. Smith, Bellingham WA Home Inspector (King of the House Home Inspection, Inc.) about 9 years ago

A heart stopping experience like that can leave you a ghost of your former self.

Posted by James Quarello, Connecticut Home Inspector (JRV Home Inspection Services, LLC) about 9 years ago

Mr James,

This is the most terrifying post the boss has ever written and Mr Charles made it oh so much more worser.

Nutsy

Posted by Steven L. Smith, Bellingham WA Home Inspector (King of the House Home Inspection, Inc.) about 9 years ago

Howdy there Steven and Nutsy

I sure did enjoy readen this here blog post of yours. I actually do believe in Spirits and Ghosts, have actually seen real ones.

Baker Home Energy Audit and Commercial Properties Inspections

Posted by Dale Baker, New Hampshire Relocation Real Estate Information (Baker Energy Audits and Commercial Properties Inspections) about 9 years ago

Participate