Steven L. Smith, Bellingham, WA Home Inspector (King of the House)

head_left_image

Bellingham Home Inspection (King of the House) Skylight Issues

Skylights can be problematic. I know a roofer here in Bellingham who says there are two types of skylights -- those that are leaking and those that will eventually leak. As a home inspector one does not, necessarily, have to foresee the future, but one does have to have a pretty good idea as to whether or not a current skylight installation is going to be problematic. You look at the flashings but, sometimes, various other clues enter into the picture.

 

That is the view from above.

 

This is the view from below. Loose shingles and poor flashings above equal leaks below. Skylights are a roof appurtenance that really need to be installed by qualified professionals (below).

nutsy wallenda, bellingham home inspector assistant

 

 

 

 

Steven L. Smith

If you enjoy nostalgia and music of yesteryear, click on Elvis' gold record to visit This Day In History. To explore The Stories Behind The Music blog posts click on the electric guitar. 

 

        

 

 

 

 

Comment balloon 9 commentsSteven L. Smith • October 29 2010 09:38AM

Comments

Amen. I have an issue with roof vents too, but we won't go there.

Posted by Glenn Roberts (Retired) almost 9 years ago

Hi Steven, good photos and explination.  The roofer in Bellingham is RIGHT, at least in this coastal climate.

Posted by Dan Edward Phillips, Humboldt and Del Norte Counties, CA (Dan Edward Phillips, Humboldt and Del Norte Counties, CA) almost 9 years ago

I love the purpose of a skylight but they are not conducive to weather!

Posted by Michele Miller ~ REALTOR®, LMC, HSE, CHS, SRES, CMRS, 'Helping You Make the Best Move" (ERA Key Realty~Worcester County Realty Group) almost 9 years ago

Steven, the builder I prefer has put in skylights for over 25 years and prides himself in the fact that they don't leak.  It is something that needs to be done well.  You are so right

Posted by 'The Diamond Group' 'A Cut Above The Rest', Lubbock Texas Real Estate (The Diamond Group @ Keller Williams) almost 9 years ago

Steve, I am in "qualified" agreement about the inevitable leaking of skylights.  A really well build and properly installed skylight will almost always have a longer life expectancy than the roof surface itself.  I see very few "leaking" problems with Velux skylights.

Posted by Charles Buell, Seattle Home Inspector (Charles Buell Inspections Inc.) almost 9 years ago

Steve I'm confused. You said something about a qualified professional below, but all I see is the Nutty one.

Posted by James Quarello, Connecticut Home Inspector (JRV Home Inspection Services, LLC) almost 9 years ago

James,

Let us be honest, you are confused much of the time.

Posted by Steven L. Smith, Bellingham WA Home Inspector (King of the House Home Inspection, Inc.) almost 9 years ago

Steve,

I agree that they are a real problem. Add snow country to them and it is even tougher. Got to go with Charles on the Velux. They have the nicest flashings kits with those. But they have to be installed correctly.

Posted by Donald Hester, NCW Home Inspections, LLC (NCW Home Inspections, LLC) almost 9 years ago

Is that a qualified professional or just a sticker of one?

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) almost 9 years ago

Participate