Steven L. Smith, Bellingham, WA Home Inspector (King of the House)

head_left_image

Bellingham Technical College -- Fundamentals of Home Inspection

The next Fundamentals of Home Inspection and 40-hours of field training courses will begin at Bellingham Technical College on February 28, 2011. These are Washington state approved courses and successful completion of the courses qualifies a student to sit for the state licensing exams.

The first three weeks are the basic "fundamentals" training and the last week includes the 40-hours of approved field training. Students, in small groups, go on actual inspections with the instructors, all of whom are licensed and experienced inspectors.

Anyone interested in the field training, or the full fundamentals of home inspection course, should call 360-752-8796. Any person interested in getting into either, or both, of these courses, should register soon.

 

GeoLogo207

 

Steven L. Smith

If you enjoy nostalgia and music of yesteryear, click on Elvis' gold record to visit This Day In History. To explore The Stories Behind The Music blog posts click on the electric guitar. 

 

        

 

 

 

 

Comment balloon 7 commentsSteven L. Smith • January 29 2011 04:12PM

Comments

Howdy and evening to you Steve

Steve,
y'all sure do have a mighty fine Home Inspector courses folks to take there in Washington. What is usually the class size for the course?

Have a good one
Dale in New Hampshire

Posted by Dale Baker, New Hampshire Relocation Real Estate Information (Baker Energy Audits and Commercial Properties Inspections) almost 8 years ago

Dale,

Most ever was 16, way too many in our book. Fewest ever was four. Most classes are six to ten, a good size. We are not going for massive.

Posted by Steven L. Smith, Bellingham WA Home Inspector (King of the House Home Inspection, Inc.) almost 8 years ago

Not bad Steve.  I took a look at the site, $3,800 per student.   Wow, that's more than $60k for your 16 student session.  Only at 4 students its still more than $15k.

Sounds like licensing is very profitable.

Posted by Jim Mushinsky (Centsable Inspection) almost 8 years ago

Jim,

This is a state college program, so the main tuition bucks go to the state college. Start figuring out that the college is paying four instructors at eight hours a day, for four weeks, and each student gets 900 bucks worth of books. In some situations, we have to go to five instructors with larger classes. Then of course, there are internal school costs for the computer lab, classroom space that displaces other classes, etc. The small classes barely make it but they let them go anyway as long as we have four.

Posted by Steven L. Smith, Bellingham WA Home Inspector (King of the House Home Inspection, Inc.) almost 8 years ago

Thanks for the clarification Steve.  A quick oversight on my part regarding the cost of doing business.  It can't be cheap to build and maintain a good college, and still be affordable for most students.

Good luck with the program!  Glad to hear you and the College are flexible for the small class size.

Posted by Jim Mushinsky (Centsable Inspection) almost 8 years ago

Steven,

Are you the first to do this in your area? I haven't heard of any training like this in Massachusetts.

Posted by Michele Miller ~ REALTOR®, LMC, HSE, CHS, SRES, CMRS, 'Helping You Make the Best Move" (ERA Key Realty~Worcester County Realty Group) almost 8 years ago

Steve,

Good luck on your next class. I wish I was in it again. Would love to take the class over again.

Posted by Donald Hester, NCW Home Inspections, LLC (NCW Home Inspections, LLC) almost 8 years ago

Participate